Download PDF


Joyce Yang courtesy Arts Management Group.


“Alongside her burgeoning career as a soloist and concerto performer, the pianist Joyce Yang has also demonstrated impressive gifts as a chamber musician. Here [FoghornClassics CD2014] she joins the excellent Alexander String Quartet for passionate, soulful readings of two pinnacles of the chamber repertory.” –The New York Times


“Their approach reminds me of such conductors as Rodzinski, Toscanini, Munch, or Gielen, a straight-ahead reading in which one hears inner voices as if X-rayed, yet never loses the lyrical flow of the music or its ability to surprise the listener with innumerable small details. … If you enjoy these two works, you owe it to yourself to hear what the Alexander Quartet and Joyce Yang make of them.” –Fanfare


“I truly hope that the collaboration between Joyce Yang and the Alexander String Quartet will continue, as it’s a match like no other.” –San Francisco Classical Voice




The focus of this collaboration is to offer audiences a full program of works for strings and piano – rather than the more standard constellation of two string quartets and one piano quintet. (However, that program configuration, or one including a set of solo piano works and a string quartet as well as a piano quintet, is available by request.) Here is a list of works available:


Brahms: Quintet for Piano & Strings in F minor, Op. 34 (1864) *

Dvořák: Quintet for Piano & Strings in A major, Op. 81 (1887)

Elgar: Quintet for Piano & Strings in A minor, Op. 84 (1918)

Mozart: Quartet No. 1 for Piano & Strings in G minor, K. 478 (1785) **

Mozart: Quartet No. 2 for Piano & Strings in E-flat major, K. 493 (1786) **

Alfred Schnittke: Piano Quintet (1972-6)

Schumann: Quintet for Piano & Strings in E-flat major, Op. 44 (1842) *

Shostakovich: Quintet for Piano & Strings in G minor, Op. 57 (1940)



Samuel Adams: Quintet (2018)

The Alexander String Quartet and Ms. Yang are pleased to announce the commissioning of a new work for them by a consortium currently including the Arizona Friends of Music, Mondavi Center, San Francisco Performances, and Soka University. The premiere will take place in Tucson, Arizona, on February 13, 2019.


* FoghornClassics CD2014

** ForghornClassics forthcoming release (2018)